Phone: 360-790-7445
2019 Legislator of the Year
Jul 17, 2019

The Washington State Fraternal Order of Police (WAFOP) Legislator of the Year Award is presented to a member of the House and Senate of the Washington State Legislature for demonstrating leadership in supporting and/or advancing legislation and polices that support public safety and law enforcement.

Representative Brad Klippert (R-Kennewick) is the 2019 Washington House of Representatives Legislator of the Year. As an active law enforcement officer with Benton County Representative Klippert consistently introduces and supports legislation with public safety as the focus. In 2019 Representative Klippert was a vocal and influential leader on issues related to school safety, proactive policing and acted as a passionate supporter of the collaboration between law enforcement and community advocacy groups in the unanimous amendment of I-940.

Senator Jim Honeyford (R-Sunnyside) is the 2019 Washington Senate Legislator of the
Year. Senator Honeyford, a former law enforcement officer has consistently supported sound processes in government and been an advocate for Washington citizens that serve their communities and country. Senator Honeyford’s support of state investment in the development of mental health facilities in the 2019 capital budget will provide law enforcement more tools for working with the public suffering from unmet behavioral health needs.

WAFOP has appreciated the open dialogue concerning issues related to law enforcement and public safety that both Senator Honeyford and Representative Klippert have consistently had with our organization. As an association WAFOP membership includes nearly 3,000 officers statewide from all ranks of local, state and federal law enforcement.

Leg of the Year 2019.pdf
Contact Info
Washington State Fraternal Order of Police
PO Box 1702
Tacoma, WA 98401

Top of Page image
Powered By UnionActive - Copyright © 2020. All Rights Reserved.